I cut my rags too thin.

spring 2015 004

“To be a spiritual warrior means to develop a special kind of courage, one that is innately intelligent, gentle and fearless….and to draw out without evasion the lessons learned from difficulties.” – The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, author Soygal Rinpoche.

My mat looks solid, but is actually fragile, and ephemeral. I cut the rags too thin, by mistake and, even as I plaited them, I could see the fraying begin. Paradoxically, it is still yet also in motion as it frays. To see the fibres coming apart we would have to look down a microscope, but we can see the result of the unravelling.

Once I got over my impatience with myself, for cutting the rags too thin, I began to find the fraying mat interesting simply because of the fraying. I have “let go” of what I wanted it to be and am now enjoying the juxtaposition of control and chaos.

I see from the front cover of The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying that I found this book in 2009, and I consider it a cornerstone of my library. Other inspiration this month, is the English springtime and the smell of the earth after rain.

