Here comes the people!

scan (2)

Work in progress, inspired by Jess.  (Grandma was very old, and didn’t speak much.  She did do: “Here is the church, and here is the steeple, here is the door, and here comes the people” (and did all the actions with her fingers).  We always kissed her when we arrived.  We always kissed her when we left.”)

Jess, my niece, always wants her Mummy to tell her a story about when she was a little girl.  Mummy’s supply of stories is now much depleted, but I still have a few up my sleeve.  So, to please a little girl who, correctly, believes that I used to travel to school on a dinosaur and eat a cornet with four scoops of ice-cream for breakfast (mint, strawberry, rum and raisin and vanilla) I’m re-visiting the late 60’s and early to mid 70’s for my current creative project.

Apart from that, I’ve been hibernating since Xmas.  I’m waking up now and am ready to eat lettuce.  Inspiration includes The Littleborough Arts Festival (more of that nearer the time (end of the summer)).  Also, I recently visited an exhibition on hell (I mean war) at Manchester Art Gallery.  Normally, the subject would put me off, but I’m glad I went, and so far, I’ve had no nightmares.  The commentaries were useful (I find the commentaries at some exhibitions incomprehensible). I learned a lot. Also, there are a lot of paintings by Paul Nash (if you are a Paul Nash fan).

See you in March!

