Meditation

photosnewblogjul14 003

I’m going to share with you the secrets of meditation! Recently I’ve been fortunate to attend some meditation classes presented by a charity called DJJS (please see link below). I was able to take up this opportunity at my place of work (after work of course!) as many employers these days feel that meditation can help the well-being of their employees.

I will not go into the technique that DJJS taught us, but I do use it and try to meditate each day. I have found that it appears to assist with a good night’s sleep. Also, if I wake I find it helps me to return to sleep. Previous to this, I found walking very relaxing, but of course I can’t do that in the middle of the night.

A friend of mine defines meditation as “sitting still” and I do think that is an important point. If we research meditation, read meditation and learn a meditation technique it doesn’t necessarily mean that we will sit still long enough to receive any benefit from it. It sounds obvious, but believe me I am giving you the benefit of my own experience. I am a woman who jumps up thinking of something to do every time she sits down. Like anything else, the self-discipline to practise every day is essential.

http://www.djjs.org/uk/gallery/

