Walking in the Dark

simpsons oven gloves 012

(embroidery inspired by night walk, Angie, November 13)

“Would you mind me asking you, what do you think about when you do abstract art?”, is a question that I’ve occasionally been asked. On this occasion, I set off to experiment with stitch and colour. Soon after starting, the images from a recent guided walk across moorland one dark night flooded into my imagination. The first time I’d worn a head torch and the first time I’d ever walked across Blackstone Edge in the dark, being nearly blown off my feet by the howling wind. It was bleak, it was dark and it was peat boggy and wet. As we returned to the start of the walk I could see the electric lights of civilisation down below.

I’ll return to my usual monthly bloggin pattern in December….

Enjoy your walks!

