The Rack o’ the thee Awards, November 2013

l'boro square pictures 002

First of all, I’d like to wish my readers a belated Happy Harvest Festival!
(small embroidery and mixed media, Angie, Nov, 13)

Damn the autumn, it turns me rack o’the thee!* I’d like to turn a giant vacuum cleaner onto those wet yellow leaves. I’d eliminate the sour yellow wetness that fans coldness into every corner of my skeleton. I’d zap the pavement leaves, like they do with chewing gum, to prevent them from causing skids. I’d rake them from every corner where they lurk, along with woodlice and other untouchables. How did I ever prefer this season? It has turned on me, becoming foe not friend, reminding me of sad memories every time it comes along…

Anyway, onwards and upwards! My inspiration today is “Drawing & Design for Embroidery” by Richard Box. Do not let the title put you off if you are thinking of beginning to learn to draw. I can recommend this book, having looked at a few others over the years. I almost feel like I know “Richard”, and that he has held my hand. It is crammed with quotations that resonate, including from a nun, Sister Columba. Yes, I can award this book my Rack O’the thee award for inspirational writing.

*(Rack o’ the thee, Lancashire engineering term for not being straight, or something like that).

(Richard Box, Drawing & Embroidery Design for The Fearful, 1988, Anchor Brendan Ltd)

“It is in order to really see, to see ever deeper, ever more intensely, hence to be fully aware and alive, that I draw what the Chinese call ‘The 10 thousand things….”

Frederick Franck, quoted in “Drawing & Design for Embroidery”

(my mixed media work can be purchased from No.10 Gallery, Baillie Street, Rochdale, and Touchstones Art Gallery (People’s Art Exhibition, Rochdale (until 23 November))

https://www.facebook.com/NumberTenGallery

http://www.link4life.org/centres/touchstones-rochdale

