William Blake, Proverbs of Hell

light experiments 001
(AW, 2012)

The rat, the mouse, the fox, the rabbit watch the roots; the lion, the tiger, the horse, the elephant watch the fruits

William Blake

I’ve been utterly absorbed into William Blake’s Proverbs of Hell. So, here are Blake’s Proverbs that I find have the most significance for me. I’ve put them in random order.

The weak in courage is strong in cunning

The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom

The cistern contains; the fountain overflows

What is now proved was once only imagin’d

Improvement makes strait roads; but the crooked roads
Without Improvement are roads of Genius

No bird soars too high,
If he soars with his own wings

The thankful receiver bears a
Plentiful harvest

The busy bee has no time for sorrow

William Blake, Introduced & Ed. J Bronowski (Penguin, 1982)
(I’ve changed the spelling of rabbet to rabbit)

